Moon Shines

Tell me, Moon, are you here for me tonight?

A lighted comfort, so I’m not alone?

Are you watching over, keeping me safe?

Or linking me with the rest who are lost?

We are together, though you’re far away.

Omnipresence above, can’t escape sight.

Can I tell you my hurt feelings and shame?

Confide in you when all my hope is gone?

Will you still be there if I say things wrong?

Will you abandon me if I’m not strong?

I think I see your face crack a smile.

Taken by Apollo 8 crewmember Bill Anders on De...

Are you laughing at me, or do you care?

Can I tell you the truth, reveal it all?

Will my weakness stop the tides when you leave?

Do you really go, or are you hiding?

Shunned by the world like me? Can’t show your face?

I am glad you let me talk and listen.

A favor earned for more than less deserved.

How do you live out there, surrounded by space?

Is it empty and dark, without your friends?

Do they come visit you, or let you cry?

Either way, thanks for being here for me.

Maybe it’s not much, but I’m here for you.

Silly promises, but feelings we share.

Thanks for being my friend. Tell them I’m gone.

Leave a Reply

