Never

Never, she told me. It’s impossible.

Never Alone

Never Alone (Photo credit: listentothemountains)

You wouldn’t understand. You don’t belong.

Look at what has been done. What can you do?

Blank manifest. We have become nameless.

Don’t you want to see my smile? Yet faceless.

They stole from us what we could not give them.

What would you do to quell the disquiet?

Taken in abundance from the have-nots.

She sees no effort, just pain and sorrow.

Couldn’t I destroy the world, nothing left?

Bring the end of days so the light can come.

It’s not enough, she replies. Yet again.

Forgive me, forget me, leave me alone.

Abandon the notion of a new world.

Fist in the air, grinding feelings below.

Extemporaneous, into the now.

Such quickly forgotten uttered phrases.

A moment’s victory, enshrined in gold.

An expression of tears, cried no longer.

The abandoned will be found. I have lost.

Inevitable, uncontrolled chaos.

Seems to lead me to the same ending path.

Watching from afar. Wondrous and amazed.

Everything’s changed, but not as I had hoped.

The feast is gorged, but my hunger remains.

Leave a Reply

